New Edition

New Edition started in 1978 and originally comprised of Bobby Brown, Michael Bivins and Ricky Bell. The guys lived in the Orchard Park housing projects in Boston, Massachusetts. The group met a local manager named Brook Payne who gave them the name 'New Edition.'

New Edition expanded their line-up when Bell brought his friend, Ralph Tresvant into the group. Payne made the group a quartet when he introduced them to his nephew, Ronnie DeVoe.

Performing at a talent show run by Maurice Starr, the group competed for a $500.00 prize and a recording contract. New Edition failed to win, but Starr decided to record with the group the next day. He recorded their debut album Candy Girl which featured hits 'Is This The End,' 'Popcorn Love,' 'Jealous girl' and the title track.

When the group parted ways with Starr in 1984, he created the group New Kids On The Bock. The group was essentially a white New Edition. The group released their self-titled sophomore effort which went double platinum.

Continuing to crank out albums, the group released All For Love in 1985 and scored success with 'Count Me Out,' 'A Little Bit Of Love,' and 'With You All The Way.' The album went platinum.

New Edition forced Bobby Brown out due to problems he would cause during concerts. As a replacement, the group added Johnny Gill. With Gill, the group developed a maturer sound and with their album Heart Break, produced by Jimmy Jam & Terry Lewis, the group was rich in the sound of new jack swing.

Heart Break scored a great deal of success, scoring hits with 'If It Isn't Love,' 'Can You Stand The Rain,' 'N.E. Heart Break,' and 'Boys To Men.' The album went double platinum.

Separating in 1989, the group broke up into several projects. Bell, Bivins and DeVoe formed Bell Biv DeVoe, while Johnny Gill, Ralph Tresvant and Bobby Prown all had solo careers of varying success.

New Edition reunited with all six members in 1996 for the album Home Again. The album went double platinum and scored hits with 'Hit Me Off' and 'I'm Still In Love With You.' Nevertheless, the promotional tour caused a split up once again as Brown and Bivins left mid-way in due to ego clashes.

Attempting to start over, the group minus Brown began touring clubs in 2002. Sean 'P.Diddy' Combs saw one such performance and signed the group to Bad Boy Records. The group released the album One Love in 2004 with minor success. The album had a small hit with 'Hot 2Nite' but had a great deal of conflict with Bad Boy. Reportedly, Diddy refused to pay Jam and Lewis for an album the group wanted on the album due to being overbudget.

The group is back to its full six members as they plan on doing a massive tour in 2007 and releasing a new album in 2008. The group plans on having Jam and Lewis do most of the production but with assistance from R. Kelly, Ne-Yo and Sean Garrett.