Tony! Toni! Tone!

Tony! Toni! Tone!

Tony! Toni! Tone! formed in Oakland, California and was composed of D'Wayne Wiggins on lead vocals and guitar, his brother Raphael Wiggins (Rapael Saadiq) on lead vocals and bass and cousin Timothy Christian on drums.

Their first album was released in 1988 and was titled Who?. The album went gold and had several hit singles. The first of these, 'Little Walter' went to #1 on the R&B charts. While none of the singles went gold, the next three singles, 'Born Not To Know,' 'For The Love Of You' and 'Baby Doll' were all Top 10 R&B singles.

Firmly establishing themselves, the group's second album The Revival was released in 1990 and reached platinum status. The album spawned several #1 R&B hits with 'It Never Rains,' 'Feels Good' and 'Whatever You Want' all topping the R&B charts. 'Feels Good' was the group's first single to breach the Top 10 of the Hot 100 and managed to go gold.

Furthering the group's success, they released their best selling album to date Sons Of Soul in 1993. The album went double platinum and had hit singles 'If I had No Loot' which hit #7 on the Hot 100, 'Anniversary' which reached #10 on the Hot 100, and '(Lay Your Head On My) Pillow' which reached #4 on the R&B charts.

In 1996, the group released their last album to date, House of Music. The album lacked the strong singles of earlier entries, only getting 'Thinking Of You' into the top 10 on the R&B charts but the album still managed to go platinum.

Working alongside Alicia Keys, the group minus Saadiq performed on The Diary of Alicia Keys. Working on the song 'Diary,' the group had their first Top 10 US hit single in eleven years.

The group reunited in 2006 for the New Jack Reunion Tour.