Hi-Five formed in 1990 in Waco, Texas and was comprised of members Tony Thompson, Roderick Clark, marcus Sanders, Russell Neal, and Toriano Easley. They were signed to Jive Records who helped them release their first album, the self-titled Hi-Five, in 1990.

Hi-Five's first album was a success, going gold, and putting several big hits on the radio. Produced by Teddy Riley, Hi-Five's debut album featured the singles 'I Like The Way (The Kissing Game)' and 'I Can't Wait Another Minute.' 'I Like The Way' topped the Hot 100 and the R&B charts, managing to go gold in the process. Bearing similar success, 'I Can't Wait Another Minute' topped the R&B charts and reached #8 on the Hot 100.

Easley left the group before their second album was released and was replaced by Treston Irby. When Hi-Five's second album, Keep It Goin' On, came out in 1992, it managed to have similar success. The album went gold and boasted hit single 'She's Playing Hard To Get.' The single reached #5 on the Hot 100 and was followed up by the R-Kelly penned 'Quality Time' which reached #3 on the R&B charts.

In 1993, Hi-Five released Faithful, the group's last album together for over 10 years. The album didn't have the same hit power as the group's first two albums but it did manage a top 10 R&B hit with 'Never Should've Let You Go,' also from The Sister Act 2 soundtrack.

Hi-Five broke up in 1994 and Thompson went on to release a solo album, Sexsational. In hopes of starting things anew, Thompson reformed Hi-Five in 2005 with four new members. They released the album The Return in 2006.

Tony Thompson died in 2007 due to inhaling air conditioner fumes in Texas.