4PM, also known as For Positive Music, formed in 1991 and was comprised of brothers Roberto Pena Jr. and Reney Pena, as well as Larry McFarland and Martiz Ware. Starting up in Baltimore, Maryland, the group was originally known as IV Real and competed in a variety of talent shows.

They moved to New York City in 1994 and started work on their first album. In 1995, the group scored a hit with the track 'Sukiyaki.' The single reached #8 on the Hot 100 and went gold. The track was featured on the album Now's the Time, which was released in 1994 on Polygram.

The group's second album, Light in the Dark was released in 1997 on Next Plateau. It had one minor hit with 'I Gave You Everything' which reached #67 on the R&B charts. Unfortunately, Next Plateau closed up shop shortly after the album's release, limiting it's opportunity for a strong performance.

Without a label, the group started their own label, 4PM and a productions line called Pena Brothers Productions. Martiz Ware opted out of returning to the group and the remaining three men released a third album, For Positive Music in 2000. In 2001, they released a Japan-only album, Sweet Soul.